PDA

View Full Version : Underwater city WiP

PencilEater
02-12-2009, 01:29 PM
This is a quick sketch of underwater ruins of an ancient civilization. This is my first time painting underwater art,so if you have some advices please write them here. And if you see any other mistakes(maybe with the composition,or something else) write them too

http://img.wklej.org/images/free/2009/02/12/741c0f35af2a0e9cd59a4f4af49f92.jpeg

jedras
02-12-2009, 05:42 PM
I'm not sure what is the scale of these things, I'd try to put any human being there. And think of some small details showing how complicated the structure of a city is.
I like these colors.

Cati
02-13-2009, 09:17 AM
Uuu... like the colours too. The background definately has a watery look but the foreground doesn't look like underwater to me. Perhaps you've meant it to be that way.

When you're painting underwater you'll have to remember that the direction of the light is very important.
Control the values. Logically your foreground should be a lot darker in a natural underwater light because the shape of your surface light suggests a singular point of light. Above the surface we may have many lighsources (the sun, the sky, lightbulbs) but underwater - there's only one light - the surface. The water swallows the light and there's very little ambient light available (there is some of course but the deeper you go the less of it is available). As you've already chosen the lightsource to be behind the diver - there can't be another lightsource here in the front from another angle unless there's artificial light available. Just change the gradient of the surface to suggest the whole surface is the source of the light. Light upwards and dark downwards.

You also might want to add some life to the ruins.. the crabs etc., corals, plants and fish make home in everything that's been under water for a while. The foreground needs something to look at.. otherwise the composition is ok in my eye.