PDA

View Full Version : how to capture node changes


madjeter
02-11-2009, 06:46 AM
Hi, I want to capture node changes like position moved, rotated, scaled, pivot change etc. But I do not find relative Max callback events. How can I make it?

Thanks!

ZeBoxx2
02-11-2009, 08:38 AM
look into the "Change Handlers and When Constructs" topic
i.e. "when transform $object changes id:#test do ( )"

JayG
02-11-2009, 11:23 PM
Is there a Change Handler for tools? I read up on the one you mentioned it seems to be for all types of objects in the scene but not tools or UI functions.

I have a GUI with a drop down of the Tool Coordinate systems, (world, local, parent, etc.). I'd like to be able to have it detect a tool change and update accordingly, as well as update itself if you change the coordsys through either a hotkey or the regular max toolbar dropdown. Any way to do that?

Edit: I'm reading through Callbacks now, it's most likely in here somewhere.

Edit #2: Found it! #spacemodeChange

RobGalanakis
02-11-2009, 11:34 PM
I have a GUI with a drop down of the Tool Coordinate systems, (world, local, parent, etc.). I'd like to be able to have it detect a tool change and update accordingly, as well as update itself if you change the coordsys through either a hotkey or the regular max toolbar dropdown. Any way to do that?

It'd be worthwhile to use a dotnet control if you need this- its event handlers fire no matter how something was changed (usually, I'm sure there are exceptions), so you'll be able to handle things much more straightfoward instead of having to build all sorts of funky ways to do things.

EDIT: Ah, I see your edit- that isn't probably what you need, then (I thought you meant when a dropdown in your tool changed, not the transform space dropdown).

ZeBoxx2
02-11-2009, 11:41 PM
for other things for which there are no explicit callbacks, but you -can- access the information in an easy and fast manner, you could use a timer. It's not 'recommended', but if you absolutely must keep track of the state of something in max, a timer is sometimes the only option

JayG
02-11-2009, 11:41 PM
Useful to know though. There's lots of things I want to do but haven't found ways so I'll have to buckle down and learn some more dotNet. Thanks for the reply.

CGTalk Moderation
02-11-2009, 11:41 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.