PDA

View Full Version : mental ray satellite (M2009) Mac/Vista problems


cgartists
02-08-2009, 12:48 AM
Hi,
I'm running Maya 2009 on OSX 10.5.6 and wanted to take advantage of satellite on Dell Vostro with Vista Business.
I've installed Satellite on PC machine - RaySat2009 service is working and port 7109 is visible as open to my mac master. Master has maya.rayhosts with slave IP:7109.

mental ray: got 8 satellite CPUs.
MEM 0.0 info : heap size limit set to 3228 MB
Info: (mental ray) : number of render thread(s): 2
// mental ray for Maya: using rayhosts file /Users/User/maya.rayhosts
Info: (mental ray) : adding rayhosts
Info: (mental ray) : adding host: 172.16.119.198:7109
MSG 0.0 debug: mi_msg_add_host adding host 172.16.119.198:7109, socket -1
MSG 0.0 info : adding new host 1 (172.16.119.198:7109)
MSG 0.0 error 011330: mi-ray/tcp: not a service (check /etc/services)
MSG 0.0 warn 012219: using fallback inet service 7003
MSG 0.0 warn 012217: bad response: 'The syntax of the command is incorrect.??' (41/512)
MSG 0.0 warn 012218: check executable and version used on remote host:port 172.16.119.198:7109
MSG 0.0 error 011321: read from host 1 failed: Connection reset by peer
MSG 0.0 error 011213: cannot receive welcome message from host 1 (active)
MSG 0.0 debug: mi_msg_open: rendezvous failed
MSG 0.0 error 011706: cannot add host 172.16.119.198:7109

After this it just goes on with the render simply ignoring any network activity...

All posts refer to earlier versions so I don't know if it is Vista/OSX/2009 specific?
Both Maya and Satellite are installed from one disc. I'm using normal license file for Maya - nothing network based. I've tried all instructions people suggest and it is not working as simply as it should...
Please share if you have any suggestions?

SlipAway
02-08-2009, 02:46 AM
Off the top of my head have you entered the correct line into the windows/system32/drivers/etc/services document on the Dell?

Based on this error line I see:

MSG 0.0 error 011330: mi-ray/tcp: not a service (check /etc/services)

I think this line should be added to it, and I don't know if you've tried it yet since I don't know what advice others have given you:

mi-raysat2009 7109/tcp

I'm pretty sure that's it but if I'm wrong it is in the documentation. Hope this helps.

cgartists
02-09-2009, 08:01 AM
hi SlipAway,
Thanks for suggestion, but yes that is what I did first - mr docs suggest this should be done automatically so I thought installation process went wrong but then I added the line with 2009 in it and 7109 port and only then the RayHosts service would run.
I even tried to telnet it from my mac:

Mac:~ Lem$ telnet 172.16.119.198 7109
Trying 172.16.119.198...
Connected to 172.16.119.198.
Escape character is '^]'.
The syntax of the command is incorrect.
Connection closed by foreign host.

I was thinking it may be Vista's fault somehow but an error also happens on my machine. When I add my IP to rayhosts it gives me:

Info: (mental ray) : adding host: 172.16.119.199:7109
MSG 0.0 debug: mi_msg_add_host adding host 172.16.119.199:7109, socket -1
MSG 0.0 info : adding new host 1 (172.16.119.199:7109)
MSG 0.0 warn 012229: could not connect to host:port 172.16.119.199:7109 - Connection refused (IPv4)
MSG 0.0 error 011228: mi_msg_connect: failed to create active socket

Despite OSX Prefs>Security>Firewall being set to Allow all...
I'm not sure if those two cases are connected but it may give someone a clue where my problem may be.

Any further comments and suggestions are really welcome! :)

SlipAway
02-09-2009, 09:26 AM
Is there a router in your network that may be blocking port 7109?

cgartists
02-12-2009, 04:02 PM
Hmm interesting point - I have read about this and reviewed it's settings (Apple Airport Express) but I couldn't find any setting that would mention blocking ports. I was experimenting and enabling/disabling NAT protocol didn't help. As for port mappings I have added Public/Private port 7109 for my laptop's IP and it didn't help either. Anyone uses this device? Had experience with it? It if not a renderfarm solution but that's what I have :/ Anyways it may still not be the cause of my problems...

SlipAway
02-12-2009, 08:57 PM
Hmm interesting point - I have read about this and reviewed it's settings (Apple Airport Express) but I couldn't find any setting that would mention blocking ports. I was experimenting and enabling/disabling NAT protocol didn't help. As for port mappings I have added Public/Private port 7109 for my laptop's IP and it didn't help either. Anyone uses this device? Had experience with it? It if not a renderfarm solution but that's what I have :/ Anyways it may still not be the cause of my problems...

Any firewalls on all computers, or built in to the router should allow traffic both ways on port 7109. I suggest checking all security software and the router/modem for a firewall that may be turned on. I'm not too familiar if Mac OS has a built in firewall but check that and Windows' too.

CGTalk Moderation
02-12-2009, 08:57 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.