PDA

View Full Version : Modo's Render Engine?

anobrin
02-05-2009, 10:54 AM
Hi
What Kind of render engine does MODO use??
(Bias, etc)
from what I can see it looks just as good & Fast as V-RAY

Grolicus
02-05-2009, 05:21 PM
I'm no expert whatsoever, but I think it's biased, multithreaded, does bucket rendering, and uses irradiance caching for radiosity calculations.
Render quality could stem amongst other things from the fact that a lot of physically correctness is applied, for example with lights.
It also has a fast built-in multithreaded render previewer that uses another technology (progressively refines).

Check out some videos under the Rendering tab on Luxology.TV .

anobrin
02-05-2009, 05:36 PM
Thanks I'll check them out.

Novakog
02-18-2009, 06:40 AM
That's a pretty accurate description - it's a biased raytracer, although I think if you use the correct settings it could be considered capable of unbiasedness (it can do Monte Carlo global illumination instead of IC, energy conservation on materials, etc.)?

If you want examples of renders, the Lux gallery (available here (http://www.luxology.com/gallery/image/)) also has I think around 2000 images.

CaptainObvious
03-01-2009, 08:11 PM
The only features I can think of in modo that's biased would be the irradiance caching and the refinement shading. Beyond that, it's largely unbiased.

I would like to point out that "unbiased" does not mean what most people seem to think it means. It has nothing to do with rendering at all, least of all physically accurate rendering. It just means that the rendering converges to statistically accurate results. Irradiance caching can be physically accurate, but it is always biased. Per-pixel brute force GI can be physically inaccurate, but it is still unbiased.