PDA

View Full Version : rig without gimbal

giordi
02-03-2009, 02:47 PM
hi guy!!
i am an animation student and i want rig a character but when i animate often i fall in gimbal in the arm, but i see that some rig don't fall in gimbal when i spin the arms and other rig have an additional control against gimbal...

my question is that ...how can i rig my character for don't fall in gimbal arm's?

Leffler
02-04-2009, 08:35 AM
Study and learn Rotation Orders and youll be at least 75% there.

Personally Ive never understood the reason for using the gimbal mode at all, at least not in Maya with the "Euler filter" ....

//Otto
www.ottoleffler.com

giordi
02-04-2009, 01:29 PM
in maya 8.5 euler filter can't work ...but there are more trick for rigging? in this moment i can rig a human character.. but i want add this control

PEN
02-04-2009, 01:30 PM
Well Euler filters help sort it out but doesn't stop the problem from happening. So using Gimble mode will let the creator of the rig see where the gimble is happening. Most packages I know have the Euler filter these days and the artists should be using it when ever they run into the problem.

Leffler
02-04-2009, 07:05 PM
So using Gimble mode will let the creator of the rig see where the gimble is happening.

Yes, here I totally agree with u Paul. I allways use it when Im setting up the rigs, its up to the rigger to minimize Gimbal Lock imo.

But does the people that animate with your rigs animate in gimbal mode? If so, what are there argument for using it instead of local?

// Otto

stewartjones
02-05-2009, 03:27 AM
I use gimbal for setup and animation. I also know a few folks who animate in gimbal mode, however I've found setting it to 'local' is the animator norm!