PDA

View Full Version : Canada vs USA(3D animation)

nkr10
02-02-2009, 12:18 AM
Hi, im a 18 year student and since 2months ago ive been wondering about my future and i cant make up my mind.

Im looking for a school for 3D animation and vissual effects, im aplying for EMILY CARR in vancouver, but my real goal is to go to VFS or GOBELINS.
The problem is that VFS is just a diploma and i want to have a bachelor documents, just for any situation that it would be helpfull, like if i want to teach, or if a job oportunity ask me for it.

If somebody can advice me i will apreciate it very much. I have 2 principal options:

EMILY CARR - Vancouver, CANADA

FULL SAIL - Florida, USA

What do you think about that schools?

And in terms of animation learning what would you choose: Canada or USA?

If you have any other suggested school please tell me.

Thanks ;)

Meloncov
02-02-2009, 10:02 PM
More important than the difference between countries is the difference between the schools. Full Sail is very technical, at the expense of creativity, while Emily Carr is very creatively focused, at the expense of technical skills.

MikeRhone
02-02-2009, 10:22 PM
I've yet to work with anyone that took 3d studies at Emily Carr.

PorkpieSamurai
02-02-2009, 11:26 PM
Yeah, I dont think their 3d reputation is very good, Emily Carr is very theory based courses.
You should explain what sort of person you are because if your the sort of person who learns on their own very easily then you might want to consider an academic education and dedicate your spare time to getting intimate with the more practical side of animation.

I know a lot of people go to vfs to learn the software and principles because they think their learning experience will be better than if they tried to learn themselves.

JesseDavis
02-02-2009, 11:51 PM
Yeah, I dont think their 3d reputation is very good, Emily Carr is very theory based courses.