PDA

View Full Version : MAXScript Reference Bad?


DarkNemos
01-28-2009, 07:36 AM
I am trying to learn maxscript from the maxscript reference and ive read the "Learning MAXScript" section and i juped to "How to: Practical Examples" and i tryed to writte and understand the first 3 of the HowTo and everything is cool and clear. Just one thing. Nothing works in max :D

I tought ive written something wrong so it doesnt work so i copyed the script from the reference to the MaxScript editor and when i run it (for example the Quick Rename Selected Objects script) it does nothing. Again. In the listener window it just pops 27188. What am i doing wrong? Or are the examples outdated? Ive read on some places mentioning max 4 and 5 and i am using 2009.

Any help for this noob? :)

IkerCLoN
01-28-2009, 09:02 AM
The first three examples are macroscripts, so they apparently do nothing, but go to Customize/ Customize User Interface, look for the 'How To' section in the Category field, and there you have the scripts. Assign them to a hotkey or a button in a toolbar or whatever you like to work with :-)

And take a look at the 'Defining Macroscripts' section in the help file. It's quite useful!

DarkNemos
01-28-2009, 09:33 AM
Geez that was too simple :D

Thanks a lot!

There are loads of things that i dont understand in maxscript but the reference is good. (not bad :D)

ZeBoxx2
01-28-2009, 11:29 AM
Although I fully support 'Read The Fine Manual', I will say the following about this particular subject (by means of a copy/paste from a chat log from last week):


<Richard> is he simply executing the script and expecting something to show up?
<Richard> 'cos if he is... that'd be the problem :P
<Richard> macroscript - add it to a toolbar or something from customize UI
<client> haha "oh, thats how it works?"
<Richard> well, granted, max could be a little bit more artist-friendly with this stuff
<Richard> a basic "would you like to add '<name>' to a toolbar now?" or something would go a long way
<client> aparently he cant find the script in the list
<Richard> I'm guessing he [is] looking in the Group dropdown; he needs to leave that set to "Main UI" and use the Category dropdown instead
* Richard thinks a 'user-defined' or 'third party' group would've been good, for that matter
<other client> heh, agreed


So, DarkNemos, don't feel too bad - you're not alone :)

DarkNemos
01-28-2009, 11:57 AM
Heh, thanks for the cheer up buddy :)

I think the only real problem with 3dsmax is that it is way tooooooo tehnical.

When i read the manual its like when you make a robot, and you need to install the software for him to move. Pile up loads of data and it will run. Well, at least i am not a robot :)

Bobo
01-28-2009, 01:25 PM
The real problem is that whoever wrote those tutorials assumed too much ;)

In the next update of the MAXScript Reference, the How To tutorials that generate MacroScripts should contain an explanation of how to use the script and a link to the "Defining MacroScripts" topic.

EDIT: I opened the tutorials in question and the Defining MacroScripts link is there already!
Not only that, but the explanation says

The macroScript will be called LockAllTransforms. To use the script, you can go to Customize... and drag the script from the category "HowTo" to a toolbar, a menu, a quad menu or assign to a keyboard shortcut.

Defining Macro Scripts



So the author is not to blame... :)

DarkNemos
01-28-2009, 02:35 PM
Thank you bobo for posting in this thread. I really apreciate it.

I guess the problem is that there it doesnt say that you cannot use it with the Evaluate all form the Maxscript editor. Personaly i would like to execute it form the Maxscript editor, to see how it works and not making any buttons. Now i tried a few macroscripts and i try a few more, and a few more and then i alway have to make buttons or custom toolbars or hotkeys . Also they are piling up in the Customise... and i have lots of them and i dont really need them.

I tryed maxscript yesterday for the first time and i dont have any previous programing experience.

Bobo
01-28-2009, 02:52 PM
Thank you bobo for posting in this thread. I really apreciate it.

I guess the problem is that there it doesnt say that you cannot use it with the Evaluate all form the Maxscript editor. Personaly i would like to execute it form the Maxscript editor, to see how it works and not making any buttons. Now i tried a few macroscripts and i try a few more, and a few more and then i alway have to make buttons or custom toolbars or hotkeys . Also they are piling up in the Customise... and i have lots of them and i dont really need them.

I tryed maxscript yesterday for the first time and i dont have any previous programing experience.

Usually you just add -- in front of MacroScript to disable it temporarily and pressing Ctrl+E evaluates the rest and runs it. That's how I test before making the button.

Will add a note to the tutorials that you can do that for testing purproses during development.

Thanks for the feedback! Getting impressions from first time users is invaluable, it is very difficult to put myself in a new user's shoes and provide the info he needs, not the info I think he needs... ;)

DarkNemos
01-28-2009, 05:56 PM
I guess i dont fully understand what macroscript is so i would probably thought of that at some point.

Thank you for your time and effort to make some things clear to me. And i know how dificult could be to putt yourself in the position for a beginer. Its almost imposible i think. You know what he needs to know but i guess you cannot fully see the potential problems (dumb or not) one can run into.

Bobo
01-28-2009, 07:02 PM
I guess i dont fully understand what macroscript is so i would probably thought of that at some point...

Then the topic "MacroScripts for New Users" in the MAXScript Reference is for you! :)

(Some small details have changed recently so it will be updated next time round, but the basics are still covered)

DarkNemos
01-28-2009, 09:24 PM
Thanks a lot. I understand it now.

I just wanted to apologize for saying that maxscript reference is bad :)

CGTalk Moderation
01-28-2009, 09:24 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.