PDA

View Full Version : Mantauris WIP

rawb
01-26-2009, 02:31 AM
Hey everyone!

I am new to working with colors digitally but I have been studying a lot of color theory and whatnot lately so I at least have an understanding (or will probably understand feedback at least!) of what I am doing.

I am working on this here fellow for various reasons. Just a monster I came up with to practice digitally with. THe mantel (the brown blob on top) hasnt really been worked on since the tonal and I'd love suggestions for that but what I am currently wrestling with is blending and creating rich shadows. I have been working ont he arm for the past bit and I just feel like I am getting nowhere at all. I did do a drawing of some anatomy for it but although I can DRAW the stuff fine I just get messed up when trying to paint it. Any suggestions on what to do next, techniques.. anything! I want to learn and get better so hopefully all you senior artists out there can give me some direction.

I also want to eventually add textures.. I tried to do so earlier as a test and it looked really bad, haha. I know the edges are rough too and I had to save on low quality so the forum would let it fit. :)

DArcy1
01-26-2009, 03:19 AM
It's not as bad as I thought from your text :-)
If you can draw to your satisfaction I'd suggest starting with the drawing and paint over it on a separate layer set to "color". It won't smudge anything. See threads like nebezial's - he has several and they are all very useful:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=316013

D'Arcy

rawb
01-26-2009, 03:22 AM
Thank you! I originally did a full tonal based on an old drawing. The drawing didn't have really any muscle detail. I later drew some anatomy (skeleton and muscles) but it was a mock up and doesn't really fit the proportions of the drawing. I AM definately going to check out what you linked me though.