PDA

View Full Version : 3D Modelling - Where to start?

bathurstt
01-25-2009, 10:39 AM
Hi guys,

I recently downloaded the PLE version of Maya just so I could give it a try as my uncle does a bit of 3D modelling in his free time. Basically, I'd like to gradually get better at this and hopefully turn it into something good later on in life. Who knows, maybe get a job in CGI films/video games.

However, I'm a little stuck at the moment. My uncle leant me some Gnomon DVD's however they seem to advanced for a total beginner. I have gone through basic fundamentals, like what each tool does and some of the different options available within certain tools. But now I'm a little stuck. Simply put, I don't know where to begin. What should I practise modelling? How did either yourself or someone you know go from the stage I'm currently at now, to a semi/professional? Obviously practise is involved, but I just don't know what to model.

I tried modelling a guitar at first whilst following a Gnomon DVD, however there seems to be skips between each of the lectures so my model is different to the tutors. I can't figure out exactly what changes he has made which leaves me at a dead end. I don't really know how to layout my wire frame mesh correctly.

Any suggestions on this topic will be greatly appreciated.

All the best,
Thomas

Edit: I'm pretty new to the site and hope to show my progress once I get used to Maya and the 3 dimensions. I've done some 2D artwork in the past, so this is a big jump for me. Somehow, I don't think jumping into modelling characters or other complicated things like that is the correct path to take as a beginner.

blank
01-25-2009, 12:07 PM
Hi and hope you have fun.

Well first thing to realise is that rome wasn't built in a day, many learners expect to much in 2 short a time, in that i mean they pick a far far too complicated object for their first attempts, like cars is a common 1 and even a guitar has some very complex shapes.