PDA

View Full Version : Help finishing a Pentagram Model

CrimsonGT
01-17-2009, 10:32 AM
Alright, so this is my first time deciding to model something im going to actually use. I have tinkered in XSI, 3DSMax and Maya before, mainly seeing which one I liked the best as far as interfaces and what not. This question is moreso a math question, but I need some help on what tools I need to use as well.

Basically I have modelled the pentagram more or less. The problem is that I am not sure how to set it up properly so that when viewed from all 3 angles, it appears the same. (Generally its 3 triangles, and if viewed from any direction it appears the same.) My pentagram is coming out lopsided if viewed from any angle except for one. I am assuming this is because I am using two faces, one for each line, and I THINK it should be two lines coming from one face. (basically one face = an intersection point whereas I have two faces and the edge between them is the point)

Anyways, heres a screenshot...
http://imagenouch.com/images/2009/Jan/11232152473.png

Im bad at math and logic, which is why im posting about it. I have been messing with it for an hour or so and cant figure out how to fix it. If indeed I do need to use one face as the intersection point to make it work correctly, what would be the best way to do that from a modelling perspective tool wise? Extrude the face then split? I want to keep the beams all the same width and im not sure how to like that.

*Edit*

Also, on an unrelated note, for a source game prop, is it okay to have the beams intersect like that, or do I need to chop them off or something?

KaiserAdler
01-17-2009, 11:40 AM
In order to achieve what you asked, all you need is to think about it as 5 tips, not 3 triangles.This way will be more easier.
In conclusion, do this :
- make your first triangle (it doesn't matter how it will look, you will tweak it after)
- point the tip of this triangle at 0 (it will point to a straight refference axis you choose)