PDA

View Full Version : Flame machine


andre_alder
06-25-2003, 10:26 PM
Hello,

What machine Discreet Flame running in? Could you give me some informations about chip, mother-boards, HD, what monitor, I/O....

Thanx
AD

Aruna
06-25-2003, 10:30 PM
discreet flame runs on an SGI Octane or Octane2. Chips are usually MIPS processors. Motherboards are proprietary.. HDs are usually RAIDed SCSI drives called discreet 'stones'. Monitors can vary, and I/O is usually a proprietary dedicated 601 or HD card.

andre_alder
06-25-2003, 11:42 PM
Hi Aruna,

Thanx..........

But, which does MIPS processor Flame needs to run? I am talking about velocity........
What does monitor Octane could work?

best regards

Aruna
06-26-2003, 12:16 AM
A little search on ebay finds this (http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?cgiurl=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Fws%2F&krd=1&from=R8&MfcISAPICommand=GetResult&ht=1&SortProperty=MetaEndSort&query=sgi+octane).

You can get dual MIPS R10K 250 that would run flame. It will also run on a single MIPS R10K 195 if you're so inclined. I think the biggest thing is the hardware graphics, which I 'think' should be MXE graphics on Octane.. The newest version of flame though (flame 8) will only run on Octane2 with V12 graphics, if I remember correctly. I would seriously run the requirements by Discreet just to make sure. There's also a minimum IRIX requirement for the OS, which I'm not sure about.. Maybe 6.5 for flame 7 and below?

Any old SGI monitor will work, as long as it as a DB13W3 connector.

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.