PDA

View Full Version : SCAD - MFA portfolio help/guidelines?

adityaprabhu
01-12-2009, 02:35 AM
I'm planning to apply to SCAD for the MFA program in VFX this fall. I have a background in bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. I'm into photography and i'm not a fine artist. I can sketch to convey ideas but nothing great!! Thats my worry!

What exactly do i need to do to get into SCAD?? How many pieces of work? How should i present it (DVD or a cd that plays on the computer?) What about photography work? And i also know Maya and After effects pretty well, so how will that help my chances? Please help me out as i feel i'm running out of time!
Thanks a lot!

-Adi

adityaprabhu
01-13-2009, 07:51 AM
Anyone? Any help would be great at this time! Can i submit my work digitally in pdf format?

danshewan
01-13-2009, 12:14 PM
What exactly do i need to do to get into SCAD?? How many pieces of work? How should i present it (DVD or a cd that plays on the computer?) What about photography work? And i also know Maya and After effects pretty well, so how will that help my chances?

Have you asked the admissions department of the university? I really don't understand why people post here first, before bothering to ask the university they want to apply to.

Shoot them an email, read the prospectus which I'm sure will outline portfolio expectations, and I'm sure they'll be much better equipped to answer your questions.

Couture
01-13-2009, 03:14 PM
On the topic, has anyone here attended SCAD for an MFA in VFX or animation? I was also starting to think about it as well. Any thoughts or opinions on it?

adityaprabhu
01-13-2009, 03:17 PM
Have you asked the admissions department of the university? I really don't understand why people post here first, before bothering to ask the university they want to apply to.

Shoot them an email, read the prospectus which I'm sure will outline portfolio expectations, and I'm sure they'll be much better equipped to answer your questions.