PDA

View Full Version : Should I go back to university?

womble1234
01-10-2009, 07:31 AM
I've been doing arch-vis for about a year and a half now (in-house, not in a studio) and the work is getting a bit boring for me now. Working in-house means that I never get to take an image to a 'finished' level as it is all design development imagery. It has helped my modelling a lot but I'm starting to think that it would be great to go back to university this September to do a Masters in either animation or post production. I already have an M.Arts(Hons) in Architectual Design.

I'm a 'capable' modeller (by no means exceptional) in a number of packages (3ds Max, Rhino, Digital Project, Grasshopper) and decent at Photoshop and starting to really get into Maxscripting. I know my way around After Effects as well, but I'm no pro. Due to the current economy I've been forced to take 3 weeks of unpaid leave and so I'm dedicating this time to improving my skills to a level where I'd feel confident going back to university. I've started drawing again (2d) and have been delving into organic modelling, hopefully by the end of my time off I'll have something nice to show for it.

If I go back to university I'd be worrying that I'd be spending a lot of money on courses that are just going to go over the 'basics' of 3d modelling.

At the moment I think I'm leaning towards a course such as Bournemouths MA Digital Effects. I just had a couple of questions:

1. My background hasn't really been in 'post production', will I be at a big disadvantage going into a course such as this with more experience in modelling/rendering/scripting than in compositing?
2. I do like the idea of their Animation course as well, however I've never really been great at 'inventing characters', I prefer to work off of someone elses designs. Would this be an issue for me?