PDA

View Full Version : ffd problem that is leaving me baffled..

bsteagal
01-09-2009, 08:48 PM
Hello all!

I asked this question also over in the max forum, hopefully I can get a response here...

I'm having an issue with FFD on a cartoon rig I'm working on that is baffling me. I'm relatively new to this so if the fix is easy... slap me. ;P

I'm rigging a cartoon mouse using Paul Hormis's technique for biped, since I'll be using mocap on the little guy. The eyes are toony so I decided to use ffd to deform the eyes how I needed. Hyperigger (Hormis's script) creates an eye rig that skins the eyeball to a lookat rotation object. Now, if I use ffd in the stack underneath the skin modifier.. ffd doesn't work the way I understand it should by the posts I've read here. The whole eyeball rotates (so the stretched portions of the eye go through the mesh, instead of rotating like if it was spherical)

If I move ffd up the stack, above the skin... it works while I have the character in fig mode..however, when I take the character out of figure mode , the eyeballs revert back to spherical and I see tha the ffd lattice does not follow the eyeball around like it should.

I've experimented by not applying the hyperrigger script and creating just a standard lookat constraint between the eyeballs and a dummy object, but then ffd doesn't seem to work either, the stretched eyeball rotates fully, going thru the mesh... aaarrghh!

What am I doing wrong here? Am I missing something in the ffd concept? (does the same whether I use ffd 4x4x4 or ffd(box) modifiers.. aren't they the same thing anyway?) I've looked at several tutorials, read the manual, and unless I'm missing something... it should work.

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Bryan

S-S
01-09-2009, 09:18 PM
Hi there. I think there is actually a thread about this one.