PDA

View Full Version : "Maya" esqe Character Sets...

jjburton
06-23-2003, 09:34 PM
I'm a student at SCAD, and I just started 3d character animation today. Amazingly enough, my teacher doesn't care which software we use. As my app of choice is LW for modeling, texturing and rendering I'd like to do my animation in it as well. Thus far, most of my animation has been done in Maya. Is there a feature in Lightwave or plugin that will allow you to do character selection sets like in Maya which makes the whole keyframing thing a lot easier?

Thanks ahead of time:)

ub52
06-23-2003, 09:40 PM
In the scene editor, upper left corner there is a button labeled Favorites. Just select the channels you want and under that button click Create set.

- ub52

jjburton
06-23-2003, 09:48 PM
How then do you key just that set as you're working? (Thanks by the way)

ub52
06-23-2003, 10:23 PM
Look for SelectFavoritesMC at this site. (http://thespread.ghostoutpost.com/) Set a keyboard shortcut for the plugin. When activated it brings up a list box of all the selection sets you've created. Pick the one you want and those items will become selected in the scene. If you have autokey on then when you tweak your items keys are created for just those. Otherwise you must press the enter key twice.

-ub52

faulknermano
06-24-2003, 01:49 AM
better yet check this one out:

http://thespread.ghostoutpost.com/ChannelSetsMC.zip

i modelled it after maya's own character sets.

jjburton
06-24-2003, 01:58 AM
Thanks ub:)

Faulknermano, do you know where there's a place that explains how to use this? Tried the site, but couldn't find directions. Thanks:)

webfox
06-24-2003, 08:43 AM
You have to make your favorites with your scene editor first. If you don't have any, then running the plugin does nothing.

SplineGod
06-24-2003, 09:20 AM
Using Selection Sets and Lernies plugin allowed me to pull this off.