PDA

View Full Version : What does LW look 4 in hardware?

Bounce
06-23-2003, 04:11 PM
I'm looking at upgrading my current system and setting up a nice little render farm for my LW rendering.

Now i have been out of the hardware game for quite some time now and was wondering if you kind kind people can offer me some suggestions on what LW really uses in terms of hardware.

I am currently running an:
Athlon 800, 512MB SDR RAM, GF2 MX...and the rest.

What am i looking for when creating a machine that will let LW run to it's max potential? Keep in mind i'm a student with about $1000 AUD to spend.

Also, when creating this renderfarm, what will the render machines be required to have in them? Just the bare essentials?

And please dont turn this into a AMD v Intel thing...if that shit still happens these days.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Steve Warner
06-23-2003, 04:38 PM
Well, I love my AMD machines. But I've got both AMD (XP-2000+) and Intel (P4) chips in my home office and I can say this with absolute certainty. LW responds infinitely better on my Intel machines than my AMD machines. I can't really give you advice about render farms. But if you're putting a system together to build and animate, do it on an Intel. Then purchase lower cost AMD machines for your renderfarm.

kurv
06-23-2003, 04:47 PM
I am actually using a laptop, which I thought would not be a good idea but it has worked out very well. I would rather have two 21" flat screen monitors but... :)

The only issue with the laptop is their is not keypad, and that hinders shortcut keystrokes.

But, back on track here...

I have 512K Ram, P4 2.3G, Nvidia GeForce 4 w/ 32M Ram... I was TOTALY happy until I went to Deuces Bennett's house and his monster machine ran circles around mine...

He has duel processor P4's and a Gig of Ram the latest video monster card..? etc...