PDA

View Full Version : Dynamical or Static


Apollux
06-22-2003, 05:21 PM
I'm sorry if this may seem like a newbei question, but I have to ask it.

Ever since I can remember (Blender 1.17), the Linux version of Blender have been coming in two 'tastes' Statically Lynked and Dynamically Linked, while the Windows, Mac Os X, Solaris, FreeBSD, Iris, BeOs and iPaq (anyone remember those last 2?) always come in just one flavor. Why is that?

And, since I am a linux user, what are the pro and cons of using each flavor of Blender?

dani
06-23-2003, 10:34 PM
well, i'm no linux expert but i think i understood one (dynamic...) was hardware accelerated, the other wasn't...

if you have acceleration probs, then you'll need static... i think...

if sbdy could confirm...

Dani

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.