PDA

View Full Version : Compositing tools as 'Title Generator'


Maniaxx
12-23-2008, 04:02 AM
Hallo,
i want to create some nice fancy overlay text effects with stuff like fade-in/out, animated (non-rigid), shaders, transformation and such. Something you would use to introduce people in videos for example.

I would like to do it in Fusion. Are there any tutorials, plugins, templates or scripts that can help me getting on track?

Isn't it one of the most used functions ever (title generation) for compositing? Shouldn't there be many collections of templates out there already doing this?

mdcorp
12-23-2008, 07:43 PM
well, for title animation after effects is also used very often. and after effects has some presets and you will find a lot in the internet.

and no, title generation is not one of the most used functions in compositing, because it isn't really compositing in my eyes.

for fusion visit vfxpedia.com there are some tutorials. and have a look at the text+ tool in fusion. it is really mighty, if you understand all the details (follower etc.)

Maniaxx
12-24-2008, 12:52 AM
Hmm, ok. I'll try it the manual way. I try to avoid AE or layer based compositing.
If you use paths, fly-in effects and 3D space it can become a quite complex composition i think. Its all about avoiding the vanilla style and standard stuff. VFXpedia has many broken links these days but i found some good tutorials already (cgsutra). I just thought about some nice libraries of professional templates that offer a lot of out-of-the-box effects to get some ideas.

mdcorp
12-24-2008, 10:50 AM
yes, sometimes it would be nice to have. but i haven't found anything like that. post a link, if you find something!
and yes, if once you get used to node based compositing, layer based comositing is really anoying ;)

merry x-mas

aglick
12-27-2008, 04:31 PM
here's a killer plugin for titling -

http://www.borisfx.com/graffiti/

Maniaxx
12-27-2008, 09:53 PM
Looks nice indeed but it unfortunately doesn't seem to work in Fusion. :sad:

The only interface that connects the plugin to Fusion is the AfterEffects folder. The plugin appears as filter/node but when clicking on 'options' or logo nothing happens. If i state the manual correctly a rendering host is mandatory. The 'RED' standalone application is not enough.

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/8810/borisot0.th.png (http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/8810/borisot0.png)

aglick
12-27-2008, 10:07 PM
It's designed as a plugin for Avid, PPro, etc. Can you try it in Premier Pro?

Maniaxx
12-27-2008, 10:34 PM
I tested it with the old PPro15. Working properly there. That solves one problem but lets me down on learning fusion. :p
Thank you for that. Looks like a very mighty title generator.

CGTalk Moderation
12-27-2008, 10:34 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.