PDA

View Full Version : Question to the group?

kurv
06-20-2003, 04:05 PM
I had an idea that we are kicking around here so I wanted to run it past the group here...

Sorry if I always seem to be asking about books...I work for a publisher.. :shrug:

As I get to know more about LW I will be posting more on modeling and things...

So...

Do you think it would make a good book to go through every tool in LightWave, tell what it does and give image examples of it..?

Please let me know, and thanks!!

PHILL_JAMES2000
06-20-2003, 04:09 PM
erm...kinda like the manual...but more examples? :)

kurv
06-20-2003, 04:40 PM
PHILL_JAMES2000, the manual does not do a good job of explaining it... It kinda causes a bunch of loops in the explanation because it name other terms in a definition.

I would be writing it from my perspective, a complete beginner... and make it much more picture oriented...

What do you think..?

Odrakir
06-20-2003, 04:57 PM
Definitively no.

That's what some books teaching other programs are all about (there are a lot like that for 3ds Max) and you don't learn anything reading that... well, maybe something, but not much

The things that a good book should teach is how to combine those different tools to make things, not the use of eachone separetly.

oh man! my english is getting worse everyday, I know...:thumbsdow

Odrakir.

proton
06-20-2003, 07:19 PM
I think if the book gave a real world example of each tool in action it would be a great resource.....

Explaining how rail bevel works and showing it in a real world use are two different things.....

I can think of alot of tools that we could use real world examples to help explain how to use them and when to use them

PHILL_JAMES2000
06-20-2003, 07:23 PM
yeah, that'd be a good idea... :D

Cman
06-20-2003, 08:47 PM
Yeah, what Proton said. But it sounds like more of a reference manual type thing.

Odrakir
06-20-2003, 09:11 PM