PDA

View Full Version : Exporting 2d/3d maps in .3DS files


Braunne
12-14-2008, 07:34 PM
Hi guys,
I have been trying to export a model to .3DS file format but the final result doesnt have any of the maps in the exported file (e.g. 2d maps such as checkers or 3d maps such as noise). How can I keep the 2d/3d maps in the model when exporting the model to .3DS?


I really appreciate your help guys. (I use 3ds max 6)


Pete

CHRiTTeR
12-21-2008, 09:37 AM
procedural texture maps arent supported in .3ds, thats just how it is.

Braunne
12-23-2008, 04:09 AM
I see, thanks. So which of the available exporting formats support maps?

CHRiTTeR
12-25-2008, 09:57 PM
none, you'll have to use bitmap textures and save them separatly.

jonahhawk
12-26-2008, 09:42 PM
What? Never say never.

You can render any map (even a procedural) to a bitmap and use that. You can use this to bake down complex map trees into simple, single bitmaps. Then export 3ds.

Material editor, Utilities menu, Render Map...

CHRiTTeR
12-27-2008, 08:54 AM
What? Never say never.

You can render any map (even a procedural) to a bitmap and use that. You can use this to bake down complex map trees into simple, single bitmaps. Then export 3ds.

Material editor, Utilities menu, Render Map...

I didnt say never :D
And baking/rendering it out to a bitmap. I know you can do that, but then it isnt procedural anymore and it loses functionality.

CGTalk Moderation
12-27-2008, 08:54 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.