PDA

View Full Version : Multiple UV tiles


TBart
12-10-2008, 08:19 PM
I exported a model to sculpt and paint in Mudbox 2009, and I used UVs outside the 0,1 range (I used 4 tiles, from (-2 to 1), 1). Now, how do I use multiple displacement and texture maps? Thanks for helping, because I can't find anything on how to do this.

oglu
12-11-2008, 12:47 PM
here we go...
you have to build a new image node for each texture...
cause xsi is sharing the texture edit node for all image nodes on one object...

this setup is only for render... you cant see it in the viewport...
i afraid there is no way to see it without rendering...

oglu
12-11-2008, 12:58 PM
here the compound version...
rename the .zip to .rar !!

TBart
12-11-2008, 05:31 PM
Thank you so much, I was really stumped on this. I'll give this a try today.

oglu
12-12-2008, 03:28 PM
is it working...?
ive never tested a dispmap...

TBart
12-12-2008, 04:17 PM
Actually, no it isn't working. I'm trying it again right now and I'll let you know how it goes.

ubermensch76
12-12-2008, 07:28 PM
The process is simpler. No need to define seperate uv co-ordinates for each file since u have already defined them in ur uv layout.If it is a single continous mesh simply arrange the different uvgroups starting from the default 0,1 uv space and keep adding the groups in the positive uv space i,e 0,1 and 1,2 so on. Make sure u name ur texture projection appropraiately if u have more than one projection ( like u might have a seperate layout for the diffuse map, bump map etc )

Mudbox recognises multi uv layout and will export the maps accordingly. After u are done generating the displacement map in mUdbox fire up XSi and load the texture images in render tree choosing texture>image and double click the imag node. It will open up its property editor. choose 'new' and load the 1st texture map. MAke sure u define the correct uv projection in the texture projection drop down. Repeat the steps until u have all of ur displacement maps loaded. using the mix two colors or mix 8 colo nodes plug the composte in ur displacemnet input of the shader.

Finally make sure u have geometry approximatoion on and set the subdivion to two or higher and tweak the displacement settings as u se fit.

Sorry for a long winded reply. beware though that using multi uvs for displacement is prone to generating un wanted displacement results where the seams of ur uv islands lie.

TBart
12-12-2008, 08:01 PM
*Sigh*, thanks for your help, but I can't get anything to show outside the 0,1 range. The only way I can is by wrapping in u, but it only repeats the texture that is in the 0,1 range. I'll try a little more, but I'm wasting too much time on this so I might have to redo the uv's in the normal 0,1 range and sacrifice some resolution.

eman
12-12-2008, 08:52 PM
The texture edit node should work for this... I hope this pic can help you.


http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/6730/catturartph1.jpg

TBart
12-12-2008, 09:33 PM
Yay, finally! As usual, I did something stupid. Eman, that pic you showed with the X translate value was what I needed. Before, I would have put a positive 1 value instead of -1, so I was missing 2 out of 4 tiles and one was in the wrong place. Anyway, thank you all for helping.

curbsidebandit
02-16-2009, 03:44 AM
Hello,

I seem to be having the same problem with getting my normal maps to showup in XSI 5.11. I placed my uvs in separate sections. Exported the model as an obj to mudbox 2009 and sculpted it. Then I exported the detail as a normal map, which mudbox created as four files. Iíve now tried to apply the normal maps with little success. Iím assuming that I put the coordinates in wrong or Iíve setup the render tree wrong. I thought perhaps I typed the uv coordinates that mud box listed on the file names, but that doesnít seem to work or any other numbers that I type in. Iíve attached some pics to help.

Iíd appreciate any help.

Thanks

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/701/screen3ev9.jpg (http://img12.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screen3ev9.jpg)

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/5951/screen2ec9.jpg (http://img9.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screen2ec9.jpg)

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/5658/screen1fg5.jpg (http://img9.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screen1fg5.jpg)

IZZE
02-23-2009, 08:05 PM
I don't know if this will help at all, but I could not for the life of me, get my mulit-displacement maps to work on the object I exported from Zbrush. I had to use the model I exported TO Zbrush and create a morph of my final low res object out of Zbrush. I know you are using Mudbox, and I may have been doing something wrong. But, it is something you might try.

smaug
02-24-2009, 02:38 PM
I don't know if this will help at all, but I could not for the life of me, get my mulit-displacement maps to work on the object I exported from Zbrush. I had to use the model I exported TO Zbrush and create a morph of my final low res object out of Zbrush. I know you are using Mudbox, and I may have been doing something wrong. But, it is something you might try.


its because when modeling in ZB the base mesh also changes causing so the normal map you created actually works with this modified version that you bring from ZB.
when you bring your models to ZB before you start sculpting just save a morph target of that original model and restore to that morph target before you create your normal maps. that way the normal maps will fit your original base mesh..

cheers.

IZZE
02-24-2009, 03:53 PM
My problem had to do with the UV's. I could not get a texture, constant, displacement, normal map, anything to show on uv's ouside 0-1. It would just render black. But take that the same material and apply it to my model before zbrush in the same scene with same uv's on both objects, and it would work fine. From what I know morph target only stores point position. Nothing to due with uv info. I could be wrong.

curbsidebandit
03-01-2009, 09:21 PM
I played with the model some more, and the only way I could get it to work was to use material clusters. I just selected each body part (torso, head, legs, etcÖ) and applied a material which would create separate clusters. For each cluster I attached a normal map node with a TP_lookup and Texture_edit node to specify the UV info. So far it appears to be working.

CGTalk Moderation
03-01-2009, 09:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.