PDA

View Full Version : Crawling spider animation

rune
04-30-2002, 09:41 PM
Hi, this is my first post here... :)

My name is Rune and I've been working with 3d graphics for four years as a hobby. My modeling and character animation skills are not very good. Instead I like to work on developing various animation techniques and effects.

One of my current projects is to create a walking system which can be used to make a character walk along a given path. It currently has support for changes in speed with automatically adjusted step length and for walking on uneven ground, and I also plan to make support for automatic blend between various walk cycles, such as a blend from walking to running when the speed increases.

You can see an animation created with this system here:

http://runevision.com/3d/anims/#42

It's a spider crawling over an uneven surface. All comments are much appreciated, especially constructive ones.

More animations here:

http://runevision.com/3d/anims/

I should mention that I use a free 3d package called POV-Ray, which is entirely script-based with no graphical user-interface. It also has no support for bones or any kind of character animation at all, so these things I code myself.

Other 3d packages probably already have support for a walking system like the one I'm developing, but probably implemented in some very different ways. I like to make my own systems though, for the challenge of it, and because it's free.

I don't know if this post is somehow off-topic for this board or on the edge of what is normally being discussed here. If so, please let me know.

Rune

Chong
04-30-2002, 09:49 PM
I think it's pretty cool. I've never used a walking system so this may be a dumb question. Was the Actual Walking animation of this spider generated by the "walking system?" Or Did u Animate a spider walking and then run it through your system so it would walk along the surface?

tpe
04-30-2002, 10:14 PM