PDA

View Full Version : spline newbie


zerobde
06-18-2003, 11:18 PM
hello everyone! i have a problem, i'm following a tutorial to model a head with splines and everything was going great until i started patching. the lines don't match up to the spline when i patch them and in subd they look circular.

the other problem is that when i select the splines, they patch really weird.

i was wondering if i can get some help from the great minds here. thanks for the help

http://www.geocities.com/jlopezcom/splineproblems.htm

DarkLight
06-18-2003, 11:41 PM
I can't see the image on that link.

It sounds like you might want to try merging points on the polys(m key).

zerobde
06-19-2003, 03:53 AM
Thanks for the reply Darklight. Sorry you can't see the image. If anyone else looks at this post, can you tell me if the link works.

As to the merging of points to polys, i've tried that and it doesn't do anything. Unless I'm doing it wrong or should have done it before I started patching. Does the number of patches make a difference? Working on the tutorial took me a couple of hours just to get to page two lol. Thanks for any and all help. It's about time I started posting rather than just reading posts everyday.

I'm an extreme newbie, but I find that lightwave is the easiest to model in. The tutorial in question is here Manga (http://mr2k.3dvf.com/tutorials/max/surfaces/manga_surface_00.htm)

evenflcw
06-19-2003, 04:17 AM
If you built the splines as the tutorial suggest, you should be alright as long as your perpendicular and parallell segments are the same number, 2 or 3 for example should be good if you'll be using Subpatches, or maybe just 1 as that splinecage looks quite dense already (for a splinecage). :) Press 'm' to merge with nothing selected every once in a while aswell, to make sure the resulting patches are joined together.

zerobde
06-19-2003, 09:10 AM
Okay, the merging problem i had is solved. thanks for all the help on that one. my second problem has to be something i did wrong because no matter how i select the splines, it creates patches somewhere else. hmmm, i need more research.

using Steve Hurley's patch helper lscript. man, that speed up patching a lot. thanks for mentioning it Splinegod.

zerobde
06-19-2003, 09:26 PM
After reading some earlier posts, i got some insight into the cause of my patching problem and found that i had to flip my splines, not just polys, to stop the patch from linking to another spline. woooo hoooo! thanks a lot to all that helped.

SplineGod
06-21-2003, 04:44 AM
Heres an example in LW. I use splines more as a layout tool and keep it simple. Ill detail in LWs Subpatch mode.
http://www.splinegod.com/examples/ogre.jpg

zerobde
06-21-2003, 07:13 AM
Compared to the tutorial i'm working on, that spline cage looks very simple. Especially compared to mine thus far Wire mesh (http://www.geocities.com/jlopezcom/wire.htm)
But then again, i'm still learning and it's fun. Not as fustrating as it was when i tried Max a few versions ago. Thanks for the example.

SplineGod
06-22-2003, 05:17 AM
Originally posted by zerobde
Compared to the tutorial i'm working on, that spline cage looks very simple. Especially compared to mine thus far Wire mesh (http://www.geocities.com/jlopezcom/wire.htm)
But then again, i'm still learning and it's fun. Not as fustrating as it was when i tried Max a few versions ago. Thanks for the example.
I think the rough layout is what splines are best at and SubDs are better once you have the basic form and flow created.
Check out my free spline modeling tutorial HERE (http://3dtrainingonline.com) . Look at the bottom fo the page.

zerobde
06-23-2003, 05:56 AM
thanks splinegod, i'll check it out.

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.