PDA

View Full Version : Considering Modo

KintaroTheBrave
12-03-2008, 05:55 PM
I've been using Blender for the past two or three years now, and while it has the functionality for learning 3D, I do recognize that it has almost no impact on the proffesional community, and not the robust tool set of a full 3D application. I originally became interested in Modo because of its renderer, it produces quality images of your models at an acceptable speed and is reasonable as far as material options and the like. Blender's closest thing is Indigo which takes hours to render anything on and materials are a complete pain. So, please, if this is an acceptable thread to post in here, what reasons are there to go Modo vs another product like C4D, Max, even Maya, when your looking for a modeling application like me? If I have made a mistake in posting this here, please ignore it or delete it.

Erik Heyninck
12-03-2008, 06:53 PM
Modo has a very good set of modeling tools. Sculpting and painting are not that robust.
The renderer is quite impressive for an in-built one. But the materials system is, let's say a bit awkward.

Cinema has good modeling tools, but not as intuitive as Modo's. But it comes with Bodypaint, a very good paint application, inside of the same interface. The new renderer module, AR3, is quite capable and, although not as advanced in some material-specific domains like SSS, it is at the same level as the Modo renderer.

Modo expects 4.01 which will include several stunning new things.
Cinema has just reached 11 which is an overhaul of nearly the entire code.

Modo is more "artistic" in feel, Cinema is arguably the most stable (rock-solid) application in 3D.

Modo is innovative, Cinema has with its modules and some pluginsa lot of options a Modo user can only dream of. Both have a good and helpful user-base and a responsive company (not like Autodesk with Maya, 3DSMAX and XSI)

If you are a student, you can get both at student prices which are very accessible.