PDA

View Full Version : Random Particle Position and Goal Weight

ssprinkles
12-02-2008, 02:46 AM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Maya dynamics and I'm trying to work on an effect where particles emit in random positions from a piece of polygon geometry and then when the geometry is animated, the particles stick to the surface.

I've found some great advice on how to make the particles appear in random positions... this is the expression I found on another thread:

$rows = 8;
$columns = 8;
particleShape1.goalWorldTangentU0PP = (trunc(rand(4)*($rows+1))/$rows);
particleShape1.goalWorldTangentV0PP = (trunc(rand(4)*($columns+1))/$columns);

...but when I turn the goal weight back on the particles all snap to a different and more uniform position.

If I am using a piece of geometry as a goal is it possible to have the particles appear in random positions? If it is possible, I would really appreciate any help with how to bring the two ideas together.

Many thanks in advance!

Aikiman
12-02-2008, 03:32 AM
Hi,

You can emit randomly from a surface using a surface emitter and if you want to limit the amount of particles just put a number in the max count on the particle shape. To make them goal at their points of emission you need to create a few particle PP attributes...those being parentU and parentV and also goalU and goalV. Then goal you particles to the object.

Then in creation expression write

parentU=rand(1);
parentV=rand(1);
particleShape1.goalV=parentV;
particleShape1.goalU=parentU;

that should work.

ssprinkles
12-02-2008, 05:33 AM
Thanks for the help but I think I'm still missing something. I was able to get the code you suggested to work and the particles did generate in random positions just as I hoped they would but when I raised the goal weight for the particles to 1 they all snapped from their random position and went to the bottom of the geometry.

How should I be attaching the goal weight after running the expression you showed?

Thanks!

Aikiman