PDA

View Full Version : 3dsmax Int Rigging Questions

IchI
11-27-2008, 02:25 PM
Basiclly over the past few months I have been getting into custom rigging within 3dsmax 2009. I have used and created a similar rig to the one made in the CGAcademy tutorials but at the same time developed it in a single heirachy to work in games and such.

I'm still very new to rigging and have been plagued with problems. I have managed to solve alot of them but I still have those questions in the back of my head nagging me. I'm hoping by asking people I can put my head at rest and make my life a lot easier.

1. Editing a completed rig...
I have finished making a human rig with controllers, wiring, reactions etc... but how does someone go about editing that rig to fit another character? I already attempted this and failed terribly which led me to believe generally you have to start again to some degree. Is this true or have I just missed a silly little button? A prime example of this is putting edit bones mode on and trying to edit a bone within an IK, it has a fit and breaks.

2. Poses...
I came from using biped and it was so handy using poses, although I understand I generally will not get the same degree of copy and pasting on a custom rig I wanted to ask if there was anyway to set more than one single skin pose? At the moment the only way I know how to store a pose is by selecting all my controllers (shapes) and going into 'animation/set skin pose' then simple messing around and going back to 'animation/assume skin pose' while having everything I have previously selected.

3. Games vs CG?