PDA

View Full Version : Copying weights from 1 vertex to another (maya)?

rebo
06-14-2003, 07:00 PM
Well its my first time i gone thru painting weights on an entire mesh and im down to the stage of using the component editor to manually tweak out bits and its going really slow.

I wonder if teres a way to copy weights off of 1 vertex and paste them to another it would save me alot of time. right now im putting them in the component editor manually :(.

Ive tried selecting the cells in component editor and Ctrl-c then Ctrl-v as you would in a spread sheet, but that didnt work .

Im working on maya 4.0 btw, thanks again.

SheepFactory
06-14-2003, 07:15 PM
thats what the mirror skin weights is for. , take a look at it in your docs.

rebo
06-14-2003, 07:22 PM
Hmm Im probably being really dumb here but I dont want to mirror accross the entire mesh. Im working on some details in the mesh and need a fast way to transfer weights vertex to vertex.

Aken009
06-14-2003, 07:29 PM
hey man...I just went thru the same thing this morning actually...I"m working on my models for the animation challenge...and it's been too long since I've rigged a character...

here is what I did:

I wanted to copy the weights from one half of my character to the other half...and it's a single mesh model (poly's)
so I selected the mesh...and went into component mode...and selected the FACES of the half that i already weighted...and then I >shift-selected the other half of my model, and then I went to
Skin>Edit Smooth Skin> Mirror Skin Weights and I opened the option box and used the options that I needed...

I hope this helps...it took me a little bit to figure that out...if you are confused...just email me... aken009@hotmail.com

Aken009
06-14-2003, 07:38 PM
hmmm...sorry we must of just posted at the same time...to copy all you do is select vertice A and then vertice B, and go Copy weights found in Skin>Edit Smooth Skin>