PDA

View Full Version : Convert grayscale to alpha-channel ?


EjPr
06-13-2003, 10:25 PM
Hi,

I'v created a grayscale pic, and I want to use it as a transparent texture. This is a "sky and cloud" : black area must be transparent, white area must be opaque.
How to do it with PS7 ?

Thanks in advance!

BooRadLey
06-16-2003, 10:13 AM
well, one way you can do it is by applying a layer mask to the layer you want the transparancy to affect. Then go to the channels menu and hide RGB and show Alpha1, pate your grayscale image into Alpha1 and hide it and unhide RGB. Go back to your layers menu and all should be well. I hope that works for you.

Brad

ASW
06-16-2003, 11:32 AM
Create a new channel, this will automatically be your alpha layer, then all you have to do is copy the contents of your grayscale layer into the new channel and voila, you can save your file out as tif tga sgi etc.. and it will contain the grayscale alpha youu just created

sweet

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.