PDA

View Full Version : help please: graphic card for Maya

matscam
04-29-2002, 12:35 PM
can some please help me with advice on getting a graphics card for Maya - or 3d in general. I am quite new at this
I just dont know what to choose and I dont really want to go for the most expensive card.
I have read all soft of posts that say ATI is better than NVidia, and vice versa.
I have no idea what to get, and could possibly someone at least point me in the right direction.

I dont want to buy something something incompatible , or just a waste of money.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

p.s also advice on other components would be nice too .e.g processor, dual or not, and such things.

Dragonius
04-29-2002, 01:17 PM
what's your budget?
is it a dedicated system?
What else do you use your system for?

i go for nvidia my self but answers to the above should narrow the field...

matscam
04-29-2002, 01:25 PM
I would really like to get a card for less than $600.

As well as maya I want to use it for image editing, but not much else, I want to limit the use of other applications on it if I can help it.

what do you mean by 'dedicated system'?

also are dual processors worth investing in, will Maya be ok with a single processor? and is a single AthlonXP 2100 sufficient? or is it best to get a P4 (but they are so much more expensive)

sorry, lots of question :)

Stahlberg
04-29-2002, 07:37 PM
'Dedicated' here means 'only meant to be used for that'.
Dual is always better than single if you can afford it.
Seems most techies prefer Athlons.
(I'm not much of a techie myself.) :)
Don't know too much about cards, check out the xboxx site (www.boxxtech.com) their system is the only dual Athlon system that has been certified for Maya.

matscam
04-29-2002, 07:53 PM
thanks for the reply,

I had a look at these machine before,
but I have no idea how much they cost
I have read good things about them though.