PDA

View Full Version : XSI to MAX Plugin???


CogsOrchish
06-13-2003, 03:00 AM
Is there such thing because Ive looked everywhere and no luck. Plz send me link if the conversion is possible???

Thx in advance :beer:

vmpre
06-13-2003, 04:10 AM
Export to the dotXSI file format from XSI.

Download and install the dotXSI importer for MAX. Clink the link to find the importer
http://sourceforge.net/projects/dotxsi4max/

Import the dotXSI file into MAX.

Of course, the obvious answer is...why even bother to bring into MAX. Just finish in XSI :p

(I just had to say it)

:beer:

Vmpre

CogsOrchish
06-13-2003, 04:50 AM
Heh thx man...yeah I totally agree, XSI rules but a friend of mine is trying to get me a job and the boss wants Max files. I know Max well but I just hate the interface and of course "no sticky keys". ::p Thx again.

CogsOrchish
06-13-2003, 05:17 AM
Hmmm, im having a problem installing that addon file. When I try to download it, I get a html file? How do i install the importer? Thx again.

CogsOrchish
06-13-2003, 05:27 AM
I figured it out man...the file is for XSI. I need a plugin that will be readable in Max 5. Again, Im trying import a XSI file into Max. Thx.

beatoperator
06-13-2003, 12:59 PM
yeah, that plugin is dotXsi export only.
import plugin for max u can find here:
http://www.softimage.com/connect/xsi/
didn't tried it yet, don't know how does it work... :wavey:

vmpre
06-13-2003, 03:10 PM
You right

My bad

that is a 3ds importer for XSI.

http://www.softimage.com/xsinet/displaydetails/Addon_display_detail.asp?family=XNET&software=XSI&parent=16&id=2431&child=Other&netview=true

thats the one you want.

Grab that zip file and put the .dli into your MAX 5 plugins folder.

Sorry about that.

Vmpre

CogsOrchish
06-13-2003, 11:24 PM
Thx guys for the help but I cant seem to get the importer to work. All I get are edges and dummy objects? If u know, please let me know the info. Thx.

topmegacool
06-17-2003, 11:57 AM
I just use OBK file for export, it keep clusters and convert them to ID, UV are also kept and.

For the reverse step (max to xsi) I use dot xsi exporter.

- TMC

CogsOrchish
06-23-2003, 05:34 PM
Suppose I were to export the model in XSI to obj, how would I import it in 3D Stuido Max??

EdHarriss
06-23-2003, 06:22 PM
Originally posted by CogsOrchish
Suppose I were to export the model in XSI to obj, how would I import it in 3D Stuido Max??

OBJ to MAX
http://www.alexcasanova.com/Plugins/Import-Export.htm

CogsOrchish
06-23-2003, 08:54 PM
Thx for the help Ed, ur awesome dude. Everyone, thx again.

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.