PDA

View Full Version : MAJOR decision for a War Veteran...please help...

WickedEdges
10-22-2008, 12:30 AM
Ok, so I'm a combat veteran and I WAS planning on attending Art Institute of Pittsburgh for Animation, but now I just heard that my home state (Ohio) is going to give veterans FREE tuition to any state school. Now I'm split between a few decisions and was looking for some insight into the subject.

I could:
a) Attend Bowling Green State University for Digital Arts and lower my standards of education, but go for free.
b) Attend AIP with higher education standards and have to still pay for about $30,000 of my tuition.
c) Attend an Ohio state school and take a good fine arts program, but learn animation in my own time.

AHHHH the decisions! What do I do?! I'm not really asking you guys to decide for me, I just want people's opinions and a different angle of looking at things. Thanks guys!

SanjayChand
10-22-2008, 12:32 AM
Id do the fine arts program, and learn the CG stuff afterward. Many people at Gnomon attended a 4 year college and then enrolled in the Certificate Program, which is what I did.

A solid traditional arts background is key to creating good stuff on the computer.

muzbee3d
10-22-2008, 01:14 AM
As in combat you dont see many OLD folks on the lines. In the CG biz its the same. Burn up the kids and get more. CG and the computer will be a very very different game in the years ahead. Develope your talent and creative thinking, the tools of today are already OLD. Get the best you can for yourself and focus on learning and doing things you'll want to do for the rest of your life that make $.

BEST

M

Brettzies
10-22-2008, 01:40 AM
I could:
a) Attend Bowling Green State University for Digital Arts and lower my standards of education, but go for free.
b) Attend AIP with higher education standards and have to still pay for about $30,000 of my tuition.
c) Attend an Ohio state school and take a good fine arts program, but learn animation in my own time.