PDA

View Full Version : Flour Sack Walkcycle.

xedus
10-19-2008, 06:03 AM
My second animation piece. Please critique it and tell me what more can I add to take it to the next level .

UPDATED : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hhm4SrriVbU

dmca
10-19-2008, 11:07 AM
hello,
try add more pelvis translation in x direction(side-side), just to give more weight on the passing pose. nice follow t in the feet

xedus
10-19-2008, 06:09 PM
Thanks for reminding me ! I completely forgot about the side to side motion :banghead: . Did not put any keys it the axis at all. Got too caught up in the details :rolleyes: . I'll fix it in a jiffy.

Anything else of concern ?

Also, im kinda an animation noob here, and thanks for the compliment on the foot follow through, but what exactly IS follow through ? :) Thing is, I'm doing all this animation work straight from my head on intuition of what would look right and stuff and im still not aware of the definations of Follow thru, overlap and all that. So could someone please expand on those a bit. I'd be really grateful :) .

RushPunx
10-19-2008, 09:43 PM
Hey Xedus!

Walk cycle is looking good!

There is a book called "The Animators Survival Kit" and you should definitely get your hands on it. It's written by Richard Williams, who was trained by Ken Harris and some other classic animators. He breaks down all the principles of animation in a very 'artist-friendly' way. I think its the best book on animation principles available.

I think every animator has their own idea of how the principles are applied, so this may not jive with some folks. But follow through is the reaction of the action. Its how the weight is distributed as a result of the movement. Think a golfer hitting a golf ball. The anticipation is getting the club above his head. The action is swinging and hitting the ball. The follow through is the weight of the movement carrying the club back over his head.