PDA

View Full Version : School Help

swoods
10-16-2008, 09:28 PM
Hello everyone!

Before I go into the true reason of this posting, I'd just like to introduce myself since I believe this is my first posting here...so HI!

Anyways...so, I've been an artist all my life. When I went to college I decided that I'd leave art as my hobby so it wouldn't get tainted by mixing it in with the word "work", and I decided to go into the health field. As I took courses in this, always studying, I realized that I had no time for my work anymore and how much I missed my art, which got me to think that I probably would have no time for my art later on in life if I didn't do something with it now...so I switched majors.

Now...it feels weird. I don't really have a direction for my work. I don't feel like the word I used to do reflects who I am today. I love art, but I don't have any passion for it since all science classes and intense studying kind of wore me down. I felt a lot better once I switched majors...like this is what I'm supposed to do, but if you don't have enough life left in you to have passion for you, how can you make good work?

Has anyone else that's been through art school felt similarly, or does anyone have advice to help perhaps give my work direction again and reinspire me? Thanks...

Kanga
03-25-2009, 11:43 AM
Yes I had that once, but not from school, from freelancing. It's a kind of burnout I guess. Just do a bit each day without pressure and the zing will come back.

Good luck man.

tempelaars24
03-26-2009, 09:08 PM
I have the same problem at the moment. I am doing a bachelor in Visual Imaging, its not quite what I as after but it was the closes thing in town to be able to learn how to do animation, specifically modeling.