PDA

View Full Version : If you have a request or a bug....


Cman
06-10-2003, 01:18 AM
F.Y.I.

lwfeatures@newtek.com

lwbugs@newtek.com

leigh
06-10-2003, 01:22 AM
Stuck.

Castius
06-10-2003, 03:13 PM
If you have any bugs I'm sure we would like to hear them too. I'd like to add any known bugs to my community list.

http://www.steelronin.com/lwrequest.html

proton
06-10-2003, 04:36 PM
Great list....I've sent a link to teh Dev team...keep me updated.:thumbsup:

milqman
06-11-2003, 05:28 AM
i don't know if this would be a good idea or not but it doesn't seem too bad to me...

Have an icon-based interface like Maya's, but also keep the text-based interface... but allow you to switch between the two at will. And perhaps @ the installation, have a dialog box asking which style you prefer.

:shrug:

dark_lotus
06-11-2003, 09:48 AM
Thanks for the info! :thumbsup:

proton
06-11-2003, 03:15 PM
Originally posted by milqman
i don't know if this would be a good idea or not but it doesn't seem too bad to me...

Have an icon-based interface like Maya's, but also keep the text-based interface... but allow you to switch between the two at will. And perhaps @ the installation, have a dialog box asking which style you prefer.

:shrug:



I hope this never happens to LW

Cman
06-11-2003, 04:35 PM
Originally posted by milqman
i don't know if this would be a good idea or not but it doesn't seem too bad to me...

Have an icon-based interface like Maya's, but also keep the text-based interface... but allow you to switch between the two at will. And perhaps @ the installation, have a dialog box asking which style you prefer.

:shrug:

Send it to the link at the top of the thread.

Jockomo
06-11-2003, 07:22 PM
Not sure why you would prefer icons to text, but if you need real estate on your screen, try hiding the buttons and using the ctrl+shift+rightmousebutton & ctrl+shift+leftmousebutton menus.

Once you get used to this you may never go back.

Chewey
06-11-2003, 10:11 PM
Originally posted by milqman
i don't know if this would be a good idea or not but it doesn't seem too bad to me...

Have an icon-based interface like Maya's, but also keep the text-based interface... but allow you to switch between the two at will. And perhaps @ the installation, have a dialog box asking which style you prefer.

:shrug:

Post one more suggestion along the lines of this one and you'll be forever banished from all Lightwave Forums located within the entire world wide web. ( just kidding!)

milqman
06-11-2003, 10:23 PM
whoah there! bad idea i guess.

anieves
06-13-2003, 02:26 AM
Originally posted by proton
I hope this never happens to LW

AGREED!!!!!

cann't stand icons... look at 3dsmax... how many icons are there? 10,000???

CTRL+X
06-13-2003, 04:20 AM
14,567

and 80,000 commands

and 5 crashes a day

Nemoid
06-13-2003, 08:27 PM
What about some more renaming tools both in Skelegon tree (a la Skel Editor ) and in the Scene Editor as well?
also some tools like collapsing hierarchy and arranging "icons" on schematic will be great.:thumbsup:
Ah,also hat bout the possbility to open different scenes in Layout? :D

Castius
06-13-2003, 08:45 PM
Add a find/replace renaming system for modeler and layout it should also work on part of names so you can change prefixes.

got that in general on my page

but schematic is an easiest way to rename at the moment for layout.

Under display tab there are schematic view tools that are very helpful

Cman
06-13-2003, 08:55 PM
Originally posted by Nemoid
What about some more renaming tools both in Skelegon tree (a la Skel Editor ) and in the Scene Editor as well?
also some tools like collapsing hierarchy and arranging "icons" on schematic will be great.:thumbsup:
Ah,also hat bout the possbility to open different scenes in Layout? :D

Originally posted by Castius
Add a find/replace renaming system for modeler and layout it should also work on part of names so you can change prefixes.

got that in general on my page

but schematic is an easiest way to rename at the moment for layout.

Under display tab there are schematic view tools that are very helpful

lwfeatures@newtek.com



The point of this thread was not to create a new list of requests, but to easily provide the email address for NEWTEK, where you can send your request.

The email link is listed at the top of the thread.

I'm not a mod or anything, but I asked Leigh to make this sticky because I was personally getting tired of the endless request lists that degrade into rabid rantings of software comparisons, and wanted to make it easy for anyone that REALLY wanted to make a request of Newtek to be able to do so.

Obviously, discussing new feature ideas for Lightwave is a no brainer, but I had hoped this thread wouldn't turn into the mass depository of those ideas.


Anyway, I got nothing else to say I guess. Sorry for the rant, and thanks for your time. :)

Chewey
06-13-2003, 09:02 PM
I concur. I suggest asking Leigh to ace out all the subsequent posts to this thread and lock it.

Castius
06-13-2003, 09:16 PM
Sorry didn't know that was your intent Cman. It should be in the resource section now i guess with our posts removed.

A post that is not locked should not be expected to not have anyone respond. It's the nature of a forum. 8)

Cman
06-13-2003, 09:34 PM
Yeah, the resource section would be more appropriate...