PDA

View Full Version : createShapeFromEdges


Linus Ericson
06-09-2003, 05:28 PM
I want to create a spline shape from the edges, is this the right code to do so and if can someone tell me how to use it I cant get it to work.
meshOps.createShapeFromEdges $Box01

magicm
06-09-2003, 05:52 PM
Linus,

Make sure you've converted Box01 to an Editable Mesh. You also need to select the edges from which you want to create the shape.

BTW: The meshOp.createShapeFromEdges command does not create a shape, but pops up the 'Create Shape' dialog. If you want to instantly create a shape from a set of edges, convert Box01 to an Editable Poly instead of Editable Mesh, and run:
polyOp.createShape $Box01 1 -- This will create a shape from edge 1

To create a shape from edge 1 to 4, run:
polyOp.createShape $Box01 #{1..4}


good luck!

Linus Ericson
06-09-2003, 06:12 PM
Thanx that work like I wanted:
polyOp.createShape $Box01 #{1..4}

Now I want to change 4 to some variabel that know how many edge a object have?

magicm
06-09-2003, 06:20 PM
Originally posted by Linus Ericson
Thanx that work like I wanted:
polyOp.createShape $Box01 #{1..4}

Now I want to change 4 to some variabel that know how many edge a object have?


polyOp.createShape $Box01 #{1..$Box01.getnumedges()}

Be sure to check the online reference on Editable Polys and polyOP. Lots of useful information in there

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.