PDA

View Full Version : rigging without bones


MiguelCaballeroRojo
10-11-2008, 06:29 AM
does anyone know how to rig a character without using bones, like the lowman or ik jane rigs? pretty much without using skinning aswell the character is pretty much shapes.

eek
10-11-2008, 07:09 PM
does anyone know how to rig a character without using bones, like the lowman or ik jane rigs? pretty much without using skinning aswell the character is pretty much shapes.

Its just a hierachy of joints then, with controllers and scripting etc.

MiguelCaballeroRojo
10-11-2008, 10:52 PM
thanks, for that i also figured out another way i was looking for and its just creating bones and then linking the geometry to it not use if this way is right but its working for me.
thanks anyway. :)

eek
10-12-2008, 05:50 PM
In maya you can only use bones, where as in max pretty much any object can be a bone, even a spline.

CGTalk Moderation
10-12-2008, 05:50 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.