PDA

View Full Version : Creating the VFX Killer App!

chicolima
06-09-2003, 08:52 AM
Hi guys,

What tools should a VFX solution contain in order for it to become the Killer App?

I started this discussion on another thread. But since I think this is an interesting subject I decided to create a New Thread to see what everyone has to say about this.

Here's Billy the Kid's reply with some interesting feedback on the type of tools that a VFX Killer App should have:

Looking forward to hear what everyone has to say on this.....

------------------------------------------
Billy_the_Kid

Hi Chico,

I think that we should separate movie apps of video/broadcast apps. I have no experience with films, i just can talk about broadcast softwares. I believe that the Killer app needs join agility and interactivity. This way:

1. Compositing and editing tools in the same software (as Avid Digital Studio)
2. A way to create our own effects through scripts (as Shake) or even accept a lot of plugins (as After Effects)
3. A good integration with a 3D software (as Combustion and 3DsMAX)
4. Network rendering,
5. Good price.......

Other comments will be great....

carloseduardo
------------------------------
:)

DominikSusmel
06-09-2003, 01:35 PM
- fast rendering
- RAM frame cycling (like IRIDAS)
- open-air broadcast module (like *frost)
- proxy res for work (like AFX and Shake)
- either node or layer based compositing (both would be great)
- network rendering
- superb antialiasing

andre_alder
06-09-2003, 03:43 PM
Hi chicolima,

Amazing thread:thumbsup:

But, what do you want??? A whislist?

1. fast rendering ou network rendering
2. a good UI
3. scripts
4. nodes based compositing
5. Linux

arvid
06-09-2003, 11:27 PM
Dedicated team with a strong financing that really listens to what the users have to say in terms of workflow and UI. (like softimage)

No platform bias what so ever, ie. available on at least Windows, Linux, Mac, Irix.