PDA

View Full Version : My First Painting

erwin1978
10-05-2008, 04:02 AM
http://members.cox.net/cb_gem/ebay/evga.jpg

This is my very first experience in doing a serious full digital painting. I used a Wacom Bamboo. It's great. I truly surprised myself that I did something decent painting for 10 hours straight considering I've no experience in painting. What do you think I could work on?

CybrGfx
10-05-2008, 04:52 AM
For your first concentrated effort at a full digital painting, this is good!

You are the first person I've met with a Bamboo (I have an Intuos and an Intuos 2). Do you find the Bamboo to be responsive enough for you? Any problems or irritations when you use it?

The results you've posted here are quite nice.
You need to work on your anatomy (who doesn't?) and your perspective foreshortening, but this is a more than adequate result for your first piece.

Good job!
~C

erwin1978
10-05-2008, 05:55 AM
I like the bamboo, especially the eraser on the pen which my previous tablet(Calcomp Creation Station) didn't have. I also like the round touchpad which acts as a zoom in/out. Having not tried out tablets capable of pressure higher than 512 levels I can say I'm satisfied with the bamboo. I pretty much get the same results from my old tablet. However, the Bamboo lacks the pen tilt detection that my old tablet had. Not a big deal. I believe airbrushes are the only brushes that take the pen tilt into consideration.

As my painting clearly shows brush strokes are readily evident. How do other painters make their painting so smooth?

CybrGfx
10-05-2008, 06:17 AM
There are a few different ways you can do it.

1. You can use the smudge tool, with the spacing box unchecked
2. You can use the lasso tool to select the area you want to smooth, and then go to Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur, and blur to taste. Then deselect. Once you have your blur level set, you can then make another selection, and hit Ctrl+F to apply the blur filter at the same settings.