PDA

View Full Version : Installing on Ubuntu

Xoliul
10-04-2008, 07:29 PM
Hi all, I just installed Ubuntu on my laptop, very impressive so far. One of the main reasons I wanted to try Linux is so I could run XSI under Linux (I want to try something really drastically different from Max on Vista).
Now I'm a big Linux noob, read a bit on XSI on ubuntu, there's not much to find other than that it's difficult to get it to run. So is there anyone here that can point me in the right direction for getting XSI to work on a fresh Ubuntu install? Doesn't seem like such a crazy idea to me so I hope this is possible.

Noratio
10-04-2008, 09:12 PM
Compatibility for Ubuntu has been asked by many, but actually they narrowed the supported distros to one, the dead old EOL FC5 . There are many other distros than Ubuntu easier to run XSI as beginner. I'm running it currently on Centos 5.2, others are FC7, Gentoo and so on. Some have managed to run it on Xubuntu but the details are unclear. Likely you are going to face problems saving and opening scenes. I suggest doing some searching Working Linux Distros for XSI 7, some of those are listed at xsibase.

Xoliul
10-04-2008, 09:48 PM
Not really XSI related, but are those other distro's as user-friendly and impressive as Ubuntu? I really don't want to be stuck with some strange OS, I like how Ubuntu now is like Windows, yet faster and sleeker.

Noratio
10-04-2008, 10:03 PM