PDA

View Full Version : Symmetry

paul k.
06-08-2003, 01:30 AM
Hey all.
I was trying to use symmetry mode and I ran into a snag. I created a box started to model with it. Then I decided symmetry was needed so I added a symmetry map. All woked fine until I added some edges. The original points that existed when I had applied symmetry still work symmetrically, but the new points that were created are not affected symmetrically and I don't know how to conect them to the symmetry map. Am I doing something wrong. It seems weird that every time I add some geometry I would have to link it to the symmetry map? I am new to XSI however, so any help that could be provided would really be appreciated thanks.
Paul

AIX
06-08-2003, 08:47 AM
hi paul.

i know that this is really annoying but you have to reapply the symmetry map everytime you add geometry.
here is a little script i use....so i only have to press one button.

ActivateObjectSelTool

if selection.count = 1 then

DeleteObj selection(0).name & _
"." & selection(0).type & _
".cls.*"

CreateSymmetryMap

LogMessage "Symmetry Map applied"

end if

as an alternative you could of course mirror one half to the other side ..... then you don't have to reapply anything.

> create the half you want to mirror
> clone it
> type a "-" in front of the x value in the scale field

some additional steps you can do are:

> select the original mesh and the clone
> create > Poly.Mesh > merge
> hide the cloned half
> apply some material to the original half and make the object fully transparent
> select the merged mesh and hit + to smooth it
> make the merged mesh unselectable so you don't accidently move point on this mesh but only on the original half

cheers chris

paul k.
06-08-2003, 10:40 AM