PDA

View Full Version : need help on some basics.

mxdirector
09-13-2008, 05:06 PM
im new to modo.

i am just trying it out to see if it is wroth replacing maya. maya is slow and un intuitive.
i will make a list of the things which i do in maya, and would like to know how to do these same tasks in modo. i have looked for introduction videos, but havent been to lucky.
some of the points i know already, others i dont.

1- how do you insert a edge loop?
2- is there a split polygon tool
3- how do you extrude
4- how do you sort out image references.
5- how do you mirror geometry, or do something to silimar effect
6- how do you smooth a model
7- how do you merge vertices
8- is there a "clean mesh" type function in modo?
9- how do you snap vertices together?
10- how do you combine objects?

i might think up some more later

thanks for any help.

brianod
09-13-2008, 08:46 PM
There are great tutorials on Luxology TV web site. Also, digitaltutors com has a great beginning set of Modo cd-roms for $45.

Modo can do almost all those things you ask about. Smoothing is a little different because Modo is a switchable sub-division surface modeler (use the tab key) or sds subdivide button to make it permanent.

Modo can insert edge loops, mirroring is done with the symmetry tool (x,y or z), objects are combined using the Boolean tool, image maps (textures, backdrops) can be viewed using the thumbnail feature on Windows file system, I don't know about the Mac for this. Extrude tool just does what you think. Extrude faces, vertices, etc. Modo has a unique tool called thicken which I have not seen in other packages.

I don't think Modo has a clean mesh function. It does have a freeze option which might do something similar. I don't remember exactly but it "sets" the object after you have modeling for a while. Modo does not have a history function like maya (just Undo which steps backward in time).