PDA

View Full Version : Do you work with MEL primarily at your job?

m00se
06-04-2003, 08:16 PM
Hello.

I was just wondering if anybody here works primarily as a MEL programmer at their jobs and if you can recommend online or offline resources on how to get started with this career path.

Regarding my background, I hold a degree in character animation but has worked primarily as a programmer after graduation using C, C++, and Perl.

Because my interests are so far apart and are in two different extremes, I'm trying to find a combination where I can use my passion in both.

If anybody can give some career advice on how to get started as a MEL programmer, that would be great.

read my other post regarding this here. (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=630882#post630882)

Thanks.

mark_wilkins
06-04-2003, 09:25 PM
A few suggestions:

* Don't tie your career goals to any one language or software package. People who do this end up in bad shape when the world around them changes, which it usually does suddenly.

* Work at applying your programming skills to animation. Learn MEL, sure, but push yourself in every other way you can also. Try doing something with OpenGL. Try developing plug-ins for Maya or Max.

* Keep up on your Perl and Python. You may find these skills much more applicable than software-dependent scripting languages like MEL.

* Consider sending a reel and resume to my employer!! :D

http://www.pdi.com/recruit/employ.htm

In particular your background is in line with what they look for in character technical directors, and though without a couple of years of experience it's much harder to get in the door I would still recommend contacting them.

-- Mark

m00se
06-05-2003, 07:00 AM
Thanks Mark.