PDA

View Full Version : Auto rigging scripts question

maxx10
06-04-2003, 05:56 PM
I'm starting to play around with character animation and I'm having my time rigging them... so started to check all those auto rigging plugs like Joint Factory or manus animan and was wondering if anybody has suggestions on wich one should I focus on considering my beginner status, thanks

P.s: I'm on osx

loked
06-06-2003, 02:18 AM
Hey maxx10,

If you're planning on doing just character animation and nothing else, then those scripts are way cool. But if you actually plan on rigging your characters, then I'd say forget the scripts and learn how to rig from scratch. You can find lots of tutorials on the net and there's alot of free rigs that you can download and just take apart to mess around with.

As a character animator, I really feel it helps to know about rigging as well. Often the rigs that riggers give me, dont always suit my needs. Its a real bonus to be able to go in and make some adjustments and add things that specifically suit my style of animating.

Once again, this is just a suggestion. Its by no means imperative.

Oh yeah and in case you pissed off that I never answered your question about which one of those scripts is the best. I really cant answer it. I've never used any of them, sorry!! :sad:

Later
loked

magilla
06-06-2003, 05:19 AM
http://www.markbehm.com/tools.html

autoRig is really cool - creates curves that you line up to the mesh and click a couple of buttons - this rocks!

Some problems though - it faces backwards (why I don't know) and I can't figure out how to scale the char after rigging and binding a mesh (apart from starting again).

Also, the fk is a bit wiggy on the arms - but you can just remove this after the fact.

It's very similar to the ikJoe rig as far as I can tell.

--magilla

maxx10
06-06-2003, 08:15 AM