PDA

View Full Version : Freelancer Needs Modelling Advice

Johnny_Scott
04-26-2002, 08:45 AM
Hi!

This is my first post on this forum.

I'm in the process of reworking some animation for a musical concert display. The animation involves fairy-tale characters interacting with a young boy.

I am having trouble with modelling the face of this psuedo-real young boy who is going to be inserted in the animation. I have no experience generating human faces and am specifically having trouble continuing the contour lines (rows of quads) across the face. My goal is to have contour lines that follow structures of the face so that many different facial expressions are possible during animation.

I would like some advice on resolving some of the circled areas of this controlling mesh. Specifically the reduction of detail between the simpler planes of his cheeks to and the more complex area where the upper and lower lips meet in a corner (this area is circled; should I continue the lip corner conture lines in a different direction; perhaps under and around the chin to avoid having to use five sided polys on the cheek planes which seem to break the conture-defining rows?).

Currently I have four rows of quads coming from the lip corners which are reduced to two rows via a five-sided polygon. I put the five sided polys in because, at least at the moment, I am focused on being as low-poly as possible in my controlling mesh.

I'd also like some general comments on the construction of the facial surface (beyond the face itself there has been no refining as of yet).

I am especially concerned about interpolating between the loops around the major structures of the face (ie the quad-rows which make circles around the eye, lips, and nose). How can I better interpolate between these circular rows of quads?

Thanks in advance for any advice and help!

-Johnny Scott

Johnny_Scott
04-26-2002, 08:47 AM
Subdivided render

Johnny_Scott
04-26-2002, 08:59 AM