PDA

View Full Version : How to use a Velocity Pass


Ahnab
09-04-2008, 05:56 AM
Hi all! I'm new to compositing, so I'd appreciate any/all help you guys could throw my way. I'm using 3D Studio and want to use the Velocity pass to apply motion blur in post rather than render it out. I had 2 questions regarding this:-

1) Whats the difference between Filtered and Unfiltered Velocity passes (its an option present in 3D Studios' Render Elements tab)?
2) How do I use/apply the Velocity pass in Combustion?

Thanx for all your input guys! :)

boss10
09-04-2008, 06:09 PM
first read previous post before ,you may find answer about blur ,
to be clear render your job at rpf file and choose option velocity,finaly filtred or infiltred try and see the difference:p

PiXeL_MoNKeY
09-04-2008, 07:34 PM
Filter applies anti-aliasing to the velocity channel, unfilter renders without AA. Filtered can give smoother and better looking motion blur, but the results won't be accurate since color values will be combined anywhere AA is applied.

-Eric

Ahnab
09-05-2008, 05:48 AM
Aaaah I see. Thanx for the input guys! :)

CGTalk Moderation
09-05-2008, 05:48 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.