PDA

View Full Version : MEL > Plugin?

Anchuvi
06-03-2003, 04:51 PM
Hi all,

I have a tool I have been working on for a few years but at the moment it is a series of scripts.

How do I convert them to a plugin file? (.mll)...Thats if its possible...

Thanks !

gmask
06-03-2003, 06:20 PM
Originally posted by Anchuvi
Hi all,

I have a tool I have been working on for a few years but at the moment it is a series of scripts.

How do I convert them to a plugin file? (.mll)...Thats if its possible...

Thanks !

You could compile a pluign and have it execute the MEL code as sort of a protection if that is what you are after.. I do not think there is any conversion..at least not an automatic one..

Anchuvi
06-03-2003, 08:17 PM
How do I compile a plug-in?

:)

gmask
06-03-2003, 08:20 PM
Originally posted by Anchuvi
How do I compile a plug-in?

:)

With a compiler.. I guess you need to consider learning some C++

Hugh
06-04-2003, 01:21 AM
Take a look at Complete Maya Programming - by David Gould - this is the best (and only) book on the Maya API at the moment....

Why do you want to convert the scripts to a plugin? To make the run faster? Or to stop people finding out how you did what you did?

If it's the first, then gmask's original idea won't work, as it would actually run slower. If it's the second, then gmask's idea will work for the general user, but if anyone really wants to find out how your code works, they wouldn't have much of a problem (there are programs that will extract strings from a binary file, and the MEL commands would all be stored as strings)

The only other option here is to completely re-write it using the API's system - this would take a long time, though - especially if the tool has taken you two years so far....

The third option is just to trust people ;)

gmask
06-04-2003, 02:05 AM