PDA

View Full Version : CG Texture Conservation Help: Videogrammetry To Save The Planet!!!

mattbjerregaard
08-27-2008, 11:50 AM
Hi all,

Intro: I am an editor/compositor and camera director primairily but am currently involved in helping out voluntarily in an underwater conservation project which is unfunded and involves the monitoring of a specific extremely important coral reef in the Philippines. I am also a professional diver with many years experience.

What I am trying to achieve is a massive texture stitch/record of an area of coral. My camera rig consists of a HDV camera with levels mounted so as its Z axis is as fixed as possible, perpendicular to the sea bed, and Y and X remain as level possible also. I have rigged a trio of crossing lasers to give me a fixed distance from the sea bed. Basically I swim or use a propulsion vehicle over a massive area, and record the corals on the bottom in matching, 'stitchable' stripes/strips.

So far I need to repeat this process about every month for the entire area (about 2 square km, it is massive) and I am manually sitching the frames together which takes far too long. This is incredibly time consuming and very inaccurate. The portion of the image I am concerned with is the centre strip. I need to automate the process more... I would look at buying a copy of 2d3 Tacitview but it is $$$

I have had a few ideas... They are probably crazy... Maybe I am barking up the wrong tree but I need to create in Maya something like a slitscan technique (Zbig et al) and bake out the texture.

Basically I can remove lens distortion and what I need to do I think is track the camera in something like Boujou then take the data and bake it to a single surface. I don't know how to do this for a texture using multiple frames from a camera projection.

Or in maya live, track a frame, solve it, bake the centre strip, repeat until the image sequence is completed. In effect you are baking the film back not the sea bed... headache

CONCLUSION