PDA

View Full Version : Maya Skeleton Skinning Problem

GenTiradentes
08-18-2008, 06:20 AM
I just created a new set of hands with arms, rigged and smooth bound to a skeleton. This is my first project using a skeleton, so keep in mind, I have no experience in this area.

Now I'm having a problem where the tips of the fingers deform when I bend other fingers. I have no idea how to fix this, and it's making my hands look like crap. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Any and all help/comments will be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot.

(Here is a screen cap of the unwanted deformation)

http://img385.imageshack.us/img385/8875/maya2008081723103361os4.jpg

digitalandrew
08-18-2008, 06:38 PM
Hi

Read up on painting skin weights ;)
You most likely need to adjust the influences on the skinned surface

-a

GenTiradentes
08-18-2008, 07:05 PM
Thanks for the direction, I'll do that.

Coyote12
08-18-2008, 07:05 PM
The tips of your fingers have influence from other joints in the hand. Select the mesh and then Paint Skin Weights tool. Select the joints in the hand and looking at the finger tip in question find the joints that have influence on the tip that should not. Ie the middle finger has weight on the Index. Select the joint that is should not have influence and paint the influence with zero value and replacement. That way when you paint the tip of the finger and "erase" the bad values those numbers will get transfered to other joints that should have influence. do this till all the "bad" joints are gone and the only joints that have influence are gone.

Why this happened and how to prevent is that when you bound the mesh to the joints you had selected Add influence on closest joint. Do not do this select closest in hierarchy instead. That way they go to the next joint in the chain and not the next finger over that may be closer.

GenTiradentes
08-18-2008, 09:42 PM
Your post is a great help Coyote, Thanks a lot! This is exactly what I needed.