PDA

View Full Version : Lizard Warriror quick sketch

ahtiandr
08-07-2008, 09:39 AM
Hi all . I am not good at drawing or painting but I found a very good way , how I can make my sketches for 3d modeling in no time . What do you think about this method ? Is it common or uncommon ? Is it good or not ? Any comments are welcome :)

http://static1.filefront.com/images/personal/a/ahtiandr/121325/fuuwctiixx.thumb500.jpg

siiilon
08-07-2008, 01:27 PM
Well, to be honest I use similar things as a starting point, but not complete photographs, but just textures of stone, marble, cork where I see a suggestions of interesting composition. I play with it and at the end the original photo is totaly overpainted and actually totally changed. Such photos can kick me up to directions where I can't go when I am staring at plain canvas. You should be able to reproduce what you see on photos, so you can change the light conditions, perspective, pose, whatever. Try not to use shortcuts too much if you want to improve your drawing skills. Be patient.

VISEone
08-07-2008, 03:10 PM
I think as long as you feel comfortable with any method it is a good way to start. Use whatever it takes to bring you to your goal.
The only thing which I see difficult in this method is to get a front view for your 3D sketch. When I did 3D modeling I had the same problem - I made a sketch from the sideview and had problems to draw the fitting frontview...

CybrGfx
08-07-2008, 05:17 PM
It's a common technique, one used all the time in matte painting.

Like ViseOne remarked, you may have problems with the front view, unless you can draw well.

I use images like this all the time, cutting off arms, heads, whatever I need for the image I'm creating. I transform, skew, warp and adjust for my needs, and then paint over the whole thing.

Whatever gets the job done and looks good. That's all that matters.