PDA

View Full Version : Flames??!!!

pixelMover
05-30-2003, 05:58 AM
Hi everyone,

A friend of mine has a project in mind for me to do. He needs CG flames coming out a window. He will shoot the footage and I need to do the flames in CG, but don't know the easiest way. The camera will not be in motion for the sequence which includes the flames. I use Maya 4 and he will be editing with an AVID editor. This is my first time trying to render realistic CG flames and incorporating that into live footage.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to accomplish this in Maya? My friend will need to be able to take what I render and use the AVID to composite this. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated?

gmask
06-01-2003, 09:09 PM
You could start out by trying the fire effect and then render several passes of it with different settings. This will give you richness and the variances that real fire and most particle effects nee dto be somewhat convincing. You'll also need to do the same with the smoke as there should be some.. I would also say that compositing in the avid is probably not the best way to finish this effect. He should export the desired clip uncompressed and let you do the the compositing.

alexx
06-02-2003, 04:58 PM
i think this is mostly a comp job..

to get really realistic flames you should have good flame footage like real fire or something comparable..

either you tweak that in the comp tool or you map the fire in maya to an object..

creating real (!) looking fire in maya 4 is close to impossible using particles.

flames usually have very long streaks and a quite complex shading, which is very hard to get with the software/hardware particles..
a mix of them both is usually a good start.

if the fire is further away you could as an addition use some of the paint fx fire brushes that are not that bad at all..

cheers

alexx

Als
06-03-2003, 11:02 AM
You can make very good flames with fluids.
Start with get fluid setup -> fire ->